Pacquiao vs. Marquez 3 Afterthoughts

Okay so the fight is over. It wasn’t exactly Pacquiao’s best fight… nor was it Marquez’s. In several ways, it is politics. The judges had to have Pacquiao win in order for the Mayweather and Pacquiao fight to happen. Otherwise, the fight was very close.

My own personal highlighsts are as following:

The Joe Frazier Memorial

Round 6 because the fight gets dirty

Round 9 because Marquez started clinching

Round 10 because Marquez slowly dropped on the floor… on purpose?

The score which was 114/114, 115/113 for Pacquiao and 116/112 for Pacquiao

The interview with Pacquiao right after because of his answers

The interview with Marquez because he was naked and still believes that he was robbed.

Although, the fight concluded the way it did, both fighters still kept going. Pacquiao took some pretty brutal punches from Marquez and did not get that affected except for the head butt and bloody lower lip from Round 5. On the other hand, Marquez also took some good punches from Pacquiao and still kept up but got tired as they reached round 12.

I will be getting rather harsh now considering the fact that I am a proud Manny Pacquiao fan. Yes, people are saying that Marquez should have won the fight fight. I disagree. Looking at all three judges score cards, obviously Pacquiao won.

Here are the reasons why I believe that Pacquiao won and why I believe that Marquez should not have won:

1) Marquez consistently stepped on Pacquiao’s foot. You can see this in Rounds 4, 6, 7, 8 and 12.

2) Marquez drank his piss yet again! This is against the rules. During the fight, you are only allowed to drink water.

3) In order to gain the Championship Title, Marquez is supposed to KNOCK OUT Pacquiao. Clearly, that did not happen.

Here’s my reaction video and some other sources to prove my point.

http://rkmagfeelingexpert.wordpress.com/2011/11/14/juan-manuel-marquez-dirty-boxing-trick-exposed/

2 thoughts on “Pacquiao vs. Marquez 3 Afterthoughts

  1. Kevin Bigley says:

    I agree, dude. I watched the fight on replay, and it looked to me like both fighters were avoiding each other. Styles make fights, and these guys are a perfect match. It wouldn’t matter if Marquez was 50 and Pacman was 20, it would still be close because they fit like puzzle pieces. I thought Pacman was trying not to lose, and Marquez wasn’t trying hard enough to win. Nobody brought the fight because they both had too much respect for each other, and their styles. My main thing is: if you’re going to win against the champion then you have to BEAT the champion. Does this mean KO? No. But you have to decidedly beat him. He didn’t. He got hit too much; he was a moving target. Pacman didn’t beat him, but he didn’t lose the fight, so nod goes to the champion. And I think that Mayweather/Pacman needs to happen before their auras are tarnished and age gets to them both. It’s the fight that boxing needs to stay alive.

    • I totally agree with everything you said. I guess that is why I found the fight to be a little on the boring side for me. Nothing really stuck out to me until tonight when all these videos of Marquez stepping on Pacquiao’s foot. But very well said. I am glad you pointed all of that out. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

